I Love You In Dreams


A one hit wonder single from the 60s? From Detroit? Really?!? Oh-my-god that’s shocking!! Not really, not really at all!

I’ve actually been dreaming of packing up and roadtripping it out to Detroit. The current state of the city intrigues me. I want to photograph all the abandoned buildings! It would also be pretty damn incredible to walk down where some of the studios were and see what still remains (probably a parking lot or apartments in most cases!).

The Volumes were an American R&B vocal group formed in 1960 in Detroit. The group’s 1962 single for Chex Records, “I Love You”, was a hit in the U.S., peaking at #22 that year on the Billboard Hot 100. The group recorded further singles for Chex and American Arts but never returned to the charts, remaining archetypical one-hit wonders.

Volumes

Side One

I Love You

Side Two

Dreams

Leave a comment