Mr. Richard’s Reviews: Busta Rhymes – Turn It Up


Busta Rhymes – Turn It Up (written by T. Smith and A. Green and mixed and produced by Busta Rhymes)

If you know me well, then you’re aware of how much I love Al Green. So anybody who samples Rev. Green is automatically cool with me. Plus, I mean Busta is a legend in the rap game.

There aren’t too many rappers who can keep up with how fast he spits his lyrics. He’s known for his freestyle ability and in my opinion demonstrates a well-rounded knowledge of a range of genres. This song with its soul and gospel flare sped up to make a club hit is super fun. Al Green’s “Love and Happiness” is one of his tunes that Erica and I love to sing to each other. No lie, I sing it and dance with my overweight cat. Erica isn’t impressed… yet.

I went out of my way to get Tall Black Guy vs. Al Green just because I love his music so damn much. This is the perfect track to play to hype a crowd up or just a few friends at a party. Plus, this was not a promotional radio copy of Busta’s single. It was a legitimate maxi release, so the album version plays first. No skipping!

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE!

Leave a Reply

