Mr. Richard’s Reviews: The Big Chill Soundtrack – Motown Various Artists


The Big Chill Soundtrack – Motown Various Artists

First off, I only like The Big Chill and The Goonies as far as Spielberg productions go. This movie is adorable, but the soundtrack is even better. It literally has been my favorite mix for as long as I can remember. I remember when my parents got a used BMW that had an “exotic” CD player in the dash. My mom went out and bought a dozen or so CD’s, the second weekend we had it to enjoy in the car. This album is the one that I have listened to, by far, the most. There’s nothing like a great tune to find a dead body to!

I suppose I chose this disc to review because of Mother’s Day and my own mom having a pretty good taste in music. It certainly was amazing when I was a child. Asides from ‘The Big Chill Soundtrack’, we used to listen to all kinds of radio because my mother hates ads. I remember watching MTV’s Morning Grind with her before heading off to the bus. These ten Motown hits are just the tip of the iceberg.

The Rascals are my all-time favorite Motown group, not soloist. So any mix that includes them in a good flow is alright in my mind. As Erica can attest, I get really into the energetic vibe of a compilation and can spend hours rearranging songs until it works for what I need. ‘The Big Chill’ gives me chills when the needle hits the grooves. It always puts me in a good mood or an even better one. However, “Good Lovin’” isn’t my favorite The Rascals single.

Three Dog Night’s “Joy to the World” is such a touching piece. If I’m really upset, it can bring me to tears. Of course, Marvin Gaye’s rendition of “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” is my favorite version. His voice is beyond soulful and he delivers his lyrics with overwhelming sincerity. It’s so good. On the B-side, I love “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg” by The Temptations, whoever might have been in rotation for that recording. But really, Procol Harum’s “A Whiter Shade of Pale” is beautiful. Usually when I listen to this album I must play the B-side twice just to get Procol Harum again.

After I listen to “A Whiter Shade of Pale”, I need The Exciters for a cool down lap. There’s just too much energy in such a slow tempo that it’s almost creepy. I feel like I’m alone in a study when I play it. I can’t praise it enough. Play it through giant speakers during any civil unrest and maybe everyone might pause for four minutes to enjoy it as much as I do.

Overall, if you dig Motown or the movie itself and haven’t listened to the soundtrack, then it’s a must. I garauntee that a copy of ‘The Big Chill Soundtrack’ is cheap and readily available at your local used record store. If you collect vinyl, then you may have a lot of these hits on other pressings, but an excellent mix is essential for any good collection. I highly recommend it as I play it another dozen times myself.

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE!

Big Chill Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

