End Of The Month Wrap Up: May 2015


I said I wanted to make May a more musical month and I did for sure. However, my mix of wanting to see love music, the Special Olympics fundraiser and just a tad bit of laziness didn’t make for an excellent cataloging and blog month. I do apologize for leaving you, my faithful followers hanging!!

Ea$y Money Preview Party

Like I said, it was a more musical month with mine and the roomie’s first trip out to Ea$y Money’s listening party for his new music. We found out about it because Mr. Richard is now interning for Killer Boombox. He’s starting up this week I believe so we’ll have some more events on the horizon and I’m really excited for him.

AWOL

The party was at AWOL, a sneaker and clothing store in Alston. It made for an intimate feel and Seduce vodka was there serving up some adult beverages. Pretty much everyone from the Boston rap and hip hop scene was there, Dutch ReBelle, members of STL GLD, etc. There happens to be a show coming up at the Middle East with all of them in a few months so if you’re in the area, be sure to look it up.

Ea$y Money at Preview Party

At times, it was a bit hard to hear the music, with everyone chatting but I do strongly recommend you head over to iTunes and download Ea$y Money’s new album ASAP. The samples used are dope, there were a few instances with the crowd singing along and his flow is damn on point too.

Piff Unit in Lawrence MA

That was the beginning of the month and we kept it pretty low key until last weekend. We ventured up to Lawrence. LawTown as they call it, LawlessTown as the roommate calls it. We went up because Dutch was going to be there, so as much as we did enjoy finding some new acts like Piff Unit, I was bummed she only performed Yen. Aside from Piff Unit (above), we also got some songs by Ea$y Money and Terminology.

Lumidee in Lawrence MA

Closing out the show was Lumidee. Since Lawrence does have that reputation, lights went up and security was quick to rush us out.  And by quick, I mean, I’m glad I didn’t need to us the rest room or anything because I’m sure they would have watched. We were rushed to waiting police, rushing everyone to their cars. It was a little intense.

When it was over with, it was still a great show. Dutch can always perform, even switching out mics mid song without missing a beat. Check out my Instagram for that!

June is the month of Boone – Pat Boone! I have pretty much scheduled those out so here’s hoping there’s no hiccups! I’m also planning on getting back to work on the blog. As much as I want to get back on it right away tonight, it’s getting late and I have a Special Olympian visiting my office tomorrow that I need to prepare for.

Raffles in the office every week, bake sales every two weeks and a bar night coming up! I’ve hit my initial goal for the fundraiser, but I’m hoping to have my whole team of 22 hit $30,000 for the Special Olympics. We have just under 50 days until the rappel down the Hyatt in Boston and are at almost at $18,000 so I think it’s very possible!

You can check out my fundraising page HERE (it’d be f*cking awesome if you donated) and follow along on the My Dad’s Albums Facebook page for a more personal look at my adventure from start to rappel day!

Over the Edge 2014 Collage

Leave a Reply

