We Are Young


I remember rocking out to this song in middle / early high school with an old friend. We had our own dance routine and would make her mom blast it in the car all the time. We had a lot of quirky inside jokes on top of this, but we loooooved 80s music!!

It’s sad how people grow apart, even with social media. I was quite an asshole to quite a lot of people in the day, this friend included but was ready to apologize and basically gravel to explain I was an ass but am pretty much a completely different person.

I didn’t really get that chance, you know, getting the good old block / unfriend despite no actual contact or messaging. You can’t force it on people, but I feel like some people also never expected me to succeed, her included perhaps and they get mad when I’m not what they expect. A little self centered, I know, but whatever. I’ll never really know since there was never a conversation.

Anyway, I’ll always love this song and really enjoy our friendship that we had even with the weird ending made easy by good ol’ Facebook. Friendships, especially among women for some reason can be a battlefield so it’s a bit of an ironic song to remember the friendship by.

Heartache to heartache we stand
No promises, no demands
Love is a battlefield

We are strong, no one can tell us we’re wrong
Searchin’ our hearts for so long
Both of us knowing
Love is a battlefield

Love is a Battlefield Pat Benatar

Side One

Love is a Battlefield

Side Two

Hell is for the Children (Live Version)

Leave a Reply

