I Believe There’s Nothing Stronger Than Paul Anka’s Love


It seems so foreign of a concept to not have every minor detail of a celebrity’s life monitored. I read TMZ, Hollywood Life, FishWrapper, Buzzfeed, etc. every day to keep up on all the celebrity gossip. At times I feel guilty, like what would happen if I were in their position? I’d flip the fuck out on paparazzi or dumb interviewers all the time. I really don’t have the patience for that. I guess that’s why I didn’t find it that surprising an incident from the ’80s managed to follow Paul Anka up into the true digital age (I consider that like mid ’90s to today personally).

In the mid-1980s, Anka was secretly recorded while launching a tirade against his crew and band members, berating them for behavior that he considered unprofessional. When asked about it on the interview program Fresh Air, he referred to the person who did the recording as a “snake we later fired”. The recording became widely known after being uploaded to the Internet and a number of quotes from it have since become famous, including “The guys get shirts!”; “Don’t make a maniac out of me!“; and “Slice like a fucking hammer!“. Some of the quotes were reproduced verbatim by Al Pacino’s character in the 2007 film Ocean’s Thirteen.

PAnkaNothingStrongerThanOurLove

Side One

(I Believe) There’s Nothing Stronger Than Our Love

Side Two

Today I Became a Fool

Leave a Reply

