You Can Call Paul Simon Al


I’ve been thinking about karaoke a lot lately. Not exactly sure why, but I’ve been craving a night on the microphone singing other people’s songs. What’s that have to do with Paul Simon? Not too much aside from the fact that if I had to pick one of his songs to do, it would be this single. The chorus is catchy and I happen to know the words where I’m not as familiar with some of his other work.

If you’ll be my bodyguard
I can be your long lost pal
I can call you Betty
And Betty when you call me
You can call me Al
Call me Al

“You Can Call Me Al” is a song by Paul Simon, the first single released from his album Graceland. The song originally charted in the U.S. at No. 44 in October 1986 but it was reissued with greater promotion in March 1987 and hit No. 23. In the UK it peaked at No. 4, while in Sweden and the Netherlands it reached No. 2.

PSimonCallMeAl

Side One

You Can Call Me Al

Side Two

Gumboots


In honor of my dad’s twelfth anniversary of his passing, I’m asking people to donate $12.00 to the Special Olympics. You can visit my fundraising page for their Over the Edge event by clicking HERE. This is my second year participating and I hope to make it one of the biggest years to date!

For more on the Athletes of Special Olympics Massachusetts and how you can get involved visit http://www.specialolympicsma.org. 

Thank you so much for your support!!

Dad15

Leave a Reply

