Weekly Record Store Wrap Up (3/30 – 4/5)


Anime2015

This last Friday I was wandering around, checking out the anime convention in Boston as you can see above, and I noticed Underground Hip Hop was packed up! There was a building custodian locking up the front so I asked if they had moved. He said yes, so I had Mr. Richard look into it, and they haven’t actually found a new location. The online shop is up an running if you need a fix in the meantime, but if you were hoping to do a little physical crate digging, you’ll have to wait.

Garnicks442015

Saturday finally marked our return to Garnick’s. It felt like it had been forever! The stacks were still piled high, but I feel like that’s just a given here. Bobby had found some random albums that didn’t have covers and weren’t in 100% great condition, so he tossed those in for free this week. It definitely pays to be regulars in a local shop!

Since it’s baseball season and that is by far my favorite sport, we picked up a disc of the greatest sports moments. I forget which decade exactly, but it has some really historic moments on it and I’m really excited to enter it. The roomie and I have tickets to a Sox game at the end of the month so I might try to time it up with that. I consider Fenway holy ground and get a little teary eyed walking down the hall of old logos after all!

I still need to pay for some more work on my car, but we managed to come out with a decent haul. On top of the two free discs and sporting one, we grabbed:

Before Dark (I’ll likely be posting this soon for Rainbow Week – a week focused on colored vinyl)

Marcia Griffiths single

Changing Faces feat. Jay Z

Sam Mangwana

And lastly, a various artists reggae LP

You may have noticed that some of my posts now have a footer with a little mention of my Over the Edge rappel in Boston for the Special Olympics. I’m my company’s tem leader and due to my extreme competitiveness, I want to raise more money than last year and be the top team for the event. I rappelled the 22 stories last year and it was one of the most exhilarating and rewarding experiences that I’ve ever had.

The Special Olympics were my first volunteering experience when I was a crappy, spoiled teenager and all of these years later, it’s nice to fully commit. I need YOUR help to do this though so I’m calling on my followers! Donate just $10.00 HERE to help out!! Imagine if just five of my followers donated ten dollars, that would be a quick $50!! What if ten people donated $10?! Mind blowing what just a few people can do!!

Every $500 we raise helps an athlete for a year. That covers transportation, securing locations, equipment, everything they need. When you think of it, it’s really not that much to cover an athlete so lets do it people!!

On that note, even though I’ll be celebrating next week with the Greek side of my family, Happy Easter everyone! Dawson wasn’t a fan of playing bunny and delivering baskets to the girls downstairs…

DawsonEaster2015

Leave a Reply

