Mr. Richard’s Reviews: Method Man & Redman – Da Rockwilder


Method Man & Redman – Da Rockwilder (written by Method Man and Redman and produced by Rockwilder)

I have a tradition with Erica in which I don’t tell her what I purchase at the record store without her company and rather make her wait to reveal in person. Erica is also usually presented the vinyl in order of least exciting to most exciting find. It’s like the ultimate crate surprise for us and this was definitely considered most exciting on that day.

This collaboration between Redman and Method Man is my all-time favorite of theirs. Their work together is spectacular and groundbreaking in my perspective. In terms of rap and hip hop, only Talib Kweli and Mos Def get me as frenetic as Red and Meth. I think what does it for me in particular is their ability to share their lyrics and delivery evenly for most of their songs as a duo. They seem to weave their words in and out of each other’s as well as bring massive amounts of energy into their act. Complimentary is almost not a strong enough descriptor for what they do in the studio and on stage together.

Method Man and Redman’s first album from which this comes, ‘Blackout’ is considered a classic sixteen years later. When I found this, I was overcome with emotions, both joyous and of guilt. I felt a little disappointed with myself after discovering this gem of a maxi-single because I hadn’t listened to it in some time. Now, I put this hit on when I need a pick-me-up which is about every other day right now. I can’t wait to blast “Da Rockwilder” this summer with the windows open for all to enjoy.

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE.

Leave a Reply

