Mr. Richard’s Reviews: t.A.T.u. – All the Things She Said (Radio Version)


t.A.T.u. – All the Things She Said (Radio Version) (written by S. Galoyan, T. Horn, M. Kierszenbaum, E. Kiper, and V. Polienko and produced by Trevor Horn and Ivan Shapovalov)

Just bringing up the name of the song gets the chorus “running through my head”.

This amazing dance track was an immediately purchased crate surprise. Erica and I both could not wait to get home and throw this on the turntable. It totally brings me back to my days as a hipster raver, going to underground parties in abandoned buildings and really loud music.

In a playlist, t.A.T.u. makes a perfect pick-me-up for when you really need a second wind. Too much dancing is not a bad thing by any means. Even the Russian version on the B-side is instantly recognized. I’m not sure if these openly lesbian electronica artists count as one hit wonders, as I figure they are popular in Russia still and probably had tunes on their music charts?

For a promotional copy only, the sleeve artwork is pretty amazing. The anime female couple in bed is evidence of the culture of 2002, when this was released. It was epically hip to be educated and current with Japanese animation back then. I always preferred, and still do, the inked shows geared towards adults. t.A.T.u. definitely had an adult theme.

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE.

3 thoughts on “Mr. Richard’s Reviews: t.A.T.u. – All the Things She Said (Radio Version)

  1. pageone333 March 16, 2015 / 10:30 am

    The original Russian is amazing! I wasn’t too happy with the translation for the English version but it’s still recognizable. So glad this band received mention on the site 😀

    • EricaFrances March 23, 2015 / 9:02 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I feel the same way, but opposite, if that makes any sense. I was first introduced to the English translation so that’s what I immediately recognize, but the original version is still clear as day. (Erica)

      • pageone333 March 25, 2015 / 8:26 pm

        Definitely. English translations are a great gateway to international music. I actually feel that way about the English version of ‘Ellie, My Love’. I prefer it over the Japanese original because it’s less sexist and more romantic. Keep the great music and posts coming 😀

Leave a Reply

