Mr. Richard’s Reviews: Prince and The Revolution – Pop Life


Prince and The Revolution – Pop Life (composed and produced by Prince and The Revolution)

There are too many Prince songs that I love, but this is my all-time favorite! It wasn’t much of a finger find as I was sort of expecting that it would be in our collection, but I was pumped to say the least. I don’t remember the exact count but we have a lot of his singles and even another twelve inch maxi-single still to enter.

First of all, I totally connect to the lyrics and the music is unpredictably catchy, yet fleeting at the same time. Instrumentally, one might not be able to recognize the tune immediately or at all. His words reverberate in my head after just one listen.

My diagnosed OCD causes me to focus most of my attention on time management as a means to leaving a legacy. In a way, I probably would enjoy fame’s perks, but I’m not hung up on that aspect of my art. I think that Prince is so conceptual and committed and I idolize him for that. Also, the fact that Prince includes a sample of talking right before coming back in with another chorus is brilliant.

I could listen to this one track several times a day for the rest of my life easily, that’s how much I adore it. If you haven’t listened to it in a while, then do so as soon as possible. It will be well worth your time!

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE from earlier today.

Leave a Reply

