Mr. Richard’s Reviews: The Pointer Sisters – Yes We Can Can


The Pointer Sisters – Yes We Can Can (written by A. Toussaint and produced by David Rubinson & Friends, Inc.)

I honestly don’t know much about The Pointer Sisters in terms of biographical information, but I am familiar with their funky, soulful music. I was sort of surprised to see how many of their singles that we have in our collection. I was fingering through one of Erica’s piles and realized that I couldn’t just skip over them because I don’t know what their legacy is. That almost made me feel obligated to check them out again. It was so worth it.

This song is amazing, poignant, and relevant in our current state of race, sex, and community relationships with the police. It really sucks that I never got to meet Frank, because the more Erica and I talk about police enforcement the more that I find I would have gotten along with him. I hope he find respect for me, because Erica has imprinted his general attitude in a way that I find reputable. I would copy the lyrics to this entire song, because they are great. However, it is much better to just listen to it.

The Pointer Sisters have a great way of blending their individual voices that doesn’t necessarily fit into a round. It is so much more sophisticated. The background vocals are very much a part of the foreground as there are conversational in their delivery. Even the music is complicated, because it almost sounds like a hip hop riff from 1973. I adore the message that “Yes We Can Can”!

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE (in case you missed it yesterday).

Leave a Reply

