Back To RuPaul’s Roots


You perhaps remember me mentioning the roommate picking up RuPaul for me at RRRecords recently. When he showed this disc to me, I screamed. We both absolutely ADORE Ru, as her career has spanned our entire lives (just about now). We both remember her early TV show and still watch her on RuPaul’s Drag Race.

RuPaul Andre Charles (born November 17, 1960), best known as just RuPaul, is an American actor, drag queen, model, author, and recording artist, who first became widely known in the 1990s when he appeared in a wide variety of TV programs, films, and musical albums. Previously, he was a fixture on the Atlanta and NYC club scenes. Usually billed as RuPaul Charles, he has played men in a number of roles, and makes public appearances both in and out of drag.

RuPaul is noted among drag queens for his indifference toward the gender-specific pronouns used to address him—both “he” and “she” have been deemed acceptable, as stated in his autobiography: “You can call me he. You can call me she. You can call me Regis and Kathie Lee; I don’t care! Just as long as you call me.”.

He hosted a short-running talk show on VH1, and currently hosts the reality television show RuPaul’s Drag Race. RuPaul is also known for her hit song “Supermodel (You Better Work)”.

RuPaulBackToMyRoots

Back to My Roots

RuPaul

Side One

Back to My Roots – Oscar G’s Dope Dub
Back to My Roots – Jheri Curl Juice Dub
Supermodel – “Work It Mr. DJ” Tribal Mix
StrÜdelmodel

Side Two

Back to My Roots – Jheri Curl Juice Mix
Back to My Roots – 7″ Version
Back to My Roots – Murk’s Curl Activator Mix

One thought on “Back To RuPaul’s Roots

Leave a Reply

