Mr. Richard’s Reviews: ? & The Mysterians – 96 Tears


? & The Mysterians – 96 Tears (composed by The Mysterians)

So oddly, Frank’s daughter asked me to review this song, not knowing that I had already planned on it as the band name stood out at me.

She wasn’t sure if I would recognize the song and told me that she used to love listening to it with her dad. I immediately recognized this single, probably from all those block party weekends working with my dad around the house. It also might be from listening to Girl Talk religiously and he samples it on “Here’s the Thing” off of ‘Feed the Animals’.

It’s a tune that if unfamiliar with could be mistaken for a The Doors title. Between the pipe organ and the classic rock sound of the post 60’s popular rock standards, it would make a good trivia question at a bar or party.

I quite liked the song until Erica showed me the lyrics and told me the background and it didn’t seem at all upbeat after that, but it is still a great tune. After listening several times, it seems as though the band Mates of State and others like them in the mid 2000’s lo-fi indie rock movement were really influenced by ? & The Mysterians’ sound.

I wouldn’t consider this a finger find but rather a catalogue rehash, because it’s something I didn’t know that we had but I like the song and has particular memories associated with it.

– Mr. Richard

Check out the original post HERE (in case you missed it earlier today).

Leave a Reply

