If You Like Pina Coladas


“..and getting caught in the rain
If you’re not into yoga, if you have half-a-brain
If you like making love at midnight, in the dunes of the cape
I’m the love that you’ve looked for, write to me, and escape”

I didn’t think about my lady, I know that sounds kind of mean
But me and my old lady, had fallen into the same old dull routine
So I wrote to the paper, took out a personal ad
And though I’m nobody’s poet, I thought it wasn’t half-bad

“Yes, I like Pina Coladas, and getting caught in the rain
I’m not much into health food, I am into champagne
I’ve got to meet you by tomorrow noon, and cut through all this red tape
At a bar called O’Malley’s, where we’ll plan our escape”

I’m sorry if this song is now stuck in your head! It’s a total ear worm and I’ll admit, one of my favorites. Is it too early for a pina colada?

Rupert Holmes (born February 24, 1947) is a British-born American composer, singer-songwriter, musician, and author of plays, novels, and stories.

RHolmes

Side One

Escape (The Pina Colada Song)

Side Two

Drop It

Leave a Reply

