Dutch ReBelle: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang


Previously, I tried to steer away from posting about concerts or local music, but that may have been because I didn’t want the pressure to keep up with it. I didn’t have the money, I was working two jobs (well, I still am, but less hours) so I didn’t have the time and truthfully, I didn’t have any artists that I was compelled to see. I was perfectly content with the vinyl, a coffee or beer and the cats.

Then The Urban Music Fest happened. I stumbled upon it in the Metro and figured it would be a great way to pep up the roommate. He has made progress with his CIDP, but it’s taken a toll on his moods. We saw some amazing acts but in particular, three acts stood out. Shea Rose, STL GLD and Dutch ReBelle. All of them brought something unique to the performance and we’ve both been hooked ever since. Luckily, most of the time, Dutch has been performing with STL GLD (if you reside in the Atlanta GA area, look it up! They’re both coming soon!) so we get to see both acts. We haven’t seen Shea Rose again, but I’ve been on the look out and am waiting for a show we can make it to.

DutchSOOT

I saw an advertisement for Sound Of Our Town and as soon as I realized Dutch ReBelle was performing again, I cleared the schedule. Oh, and it was free! We initially planned on staying for all acts but the rain dampened the mood slightly so we did end up only seeing Dutch perform. It was completely worth it! As expected, she slayed that stage. Her lyrics are so on point and to spit her vocabulary out at that speed is mind blowing.

Not only do I consider her a lyrical genius with an insane flow, she’s so kind. She recognized as us we walked up so she pointed and shouted out the fact we had on her ReBelle Army shirts. Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang! Since it wasn’t packed at all because of the rain, we ended up standing right next to her mom and didn’t realize it!

DutchMeeting

After her set, she was there for the fans to sign shirts and CDs. That’s when we realized that it was her mom standing by us. Actually, a lot of her family was there to support her and it was really touching to see. Her mom had been getting down in the crowd! We even met her poetry teacher when he showed up afterwards. It was a really, really awesome experience. I used to meet a lot of artists in middle and high school with my nephew because bands thought it was funny that we were so young, but I have never met anybody as genuine and kind as Dutch and her family were.

Speaking of STL GLD, Moe Pope was there to support Dutch ReBelle. He’s pretty recognizable with his hats, even through a crowd. We got to chat with him and told him we picked up STL GLD on vinyl recently at Underground Hip Hop. I’ll be posting that sometime in the next week so be sure to look out for it! He and his wife were both incredibly nice too and their daughter is downright adorable.

We picked up some new shirts so now we each have a gray and black one. I bought my first CD in about eight years too. It’s been all vinyl since iPods came out but I had to do it! First off, if she signed my shirt, I’d need to frame it and second, I just want to support her. I mean, it’s so hard for any visual or musical artist to get a start and when that artist is as talent as Ms. ReBelle, than they definitely deserve that support. If you haven’t downloaded her album yet, do it and watch out for her to hit your town!

 

One thought on “Dutch ReBelle: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

Leave a Reply

