A Trip To the Record Store – Garnick’s


This last weekend, I packed my bags and headed to Vermont with the roommate. After a night in Weston without cell service, we proceeded to Burlington. My intention was to head to a couple of record stores there, but alas, I drank while they were open on Saturday and they opened pretty late on Sunday. It was rainy and bleeehhh outside so we called it a day. I did hit up the Bern Gallery where I saw some pretty nifty painted album covers. I had posted this earlier on Instagram (have you checked it out yet, you should, you should!) but in case you haven’t seen it, these are two of those covers.

BernGallery

To make up for my timing on the Vermont trip, the roomie and I headed to Garnick’s today on Middlesex in Lowell. It. Was. Amazing. The guy, Bob, knew my dad, his music AND had some funny stories about my dad. I definitely loaded up while in there too. He’s holding a Nina Simone album for me too, which I’m so freakin’ pumped for. The store was pretty crowded, but they’re absolutely fantastic in there. There are some more pictures on Facebook too, get your buns over there and check it out!

recordstore

recordstore2

recordstore3

Like I said, I loaded up. The roomie opted for more classic, collectables and I went straight up piggy style and got all the guilty pleasures I wanted. I’m working on some other posts right now but be on the look out for:

Eddie Murphy

Bethlehem’s Finest – a various artists album with artists like Julie London, Betty Roche, Mel Torme, etc

Nancy Wilson

Billie Holiday

Together – an album with Diana Ross, The Supremes and The Temptations

Another Diana Ross album

Al Green

And… Miss Jackson if you’re nasty! Janet Jackson

I’m so excited to get these entered and listen to them. I’m headed back to Garnick’s Saturday to pick up my Nina and they’re also checking for some reggae for me. More updates to come!